Leaning code, learning blogging, and just learning

I’ll be resuming blogging in the near future, however this blog has been effectively dead since October 2013. Yes, there has been one post since then. These days, the name is out of date, and some of the technologies mentioned in the header have faded to irrelevance or certainly are not part of my world any more. So with that, I will be creating a new blog.

I’ve learned a lot doing this blog. That it does take time and commitment, that constructing a well thought out post isn’t always easy and that if you are chasing a readership, reliability is important. I’ve also learned that reporting news is of limited value – plenty of other sites do a great job of that, and that I should keep it more focused. I’ve also learned that even if I’m just a guy with a blog, if it provides value to people, there is value to it, and if I find myself going back to it from time to time, it has also provided value. Lastly, a blog isn’t a great home for shipped product.

So I intend (no work is started yet) on creating 2 new places on the web. One for my blog about things I find interesting as a developer, professionally and personally. I’ve been listening to several podcasts recently that preached the value of running a blog in part as a way of organizing your thoughts about technical topics, learning by duty to explain, and to a large extent, if no-one else ready your blog, it doesn’t matter. But additionally, if you figure things out that can help others, share them. So one site I create will be a blog for that – things in my developer story, technical and not, that seem to me worth remembering, worth sharing or worth learning properly. In the end, I always will be learning in software development, both professionally and personally and that continues and that will be the angle I come from.

The second place is a real home on the web for my apps, starting with Shoppers Calculator which has a decent user base and a somewhat compelling feature set. It deserves a bit of marketing in a space for itself, my newsletter there may become blog posts and I will certainly link my new blog to it but won’t explicitly host that content on my blog any more.

Amazingly I still get daily readers here on some of my oldest posts, and I will keep them around. But I would expect only one more post after today to be added in this location. Thanks for reading and hope you found some of what I wrote or the code samples useful or insightful.

About bluechrism

I am a software developer with most professional experience in the Windows .Net realm and I'm currently a WPF developer with Starkey Labs. However, I have wanted for some time to start the mobile developer journey properly and being an N900 owner, this was to be in the realm of QT. Job hunting, moving to Minnesota and changing jobs put my plans on hold 6-12 months but things are starting to settle now, just as I'm getting sorted to start some things, Microsoft and Nokia merge. This blog is about my novice mobile development experiences and hopefully will end up complete with links to download some apps on various platforms, but obviously by the name, Sybian, Maemo/Meego and Windows Mobile. In other stuff, I am English, I support Everton FC, I have visited Glastonbury music festival 5 times and recommend it to anyone. I am married and my wife and i have a dog called Friday.
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

