Review: Nokia 808 PureView – Part 4 Audio, Recording and Conclusions

Also in this series:
Nokia 808 PureView – Part 1 Hardware.
Nokia 808 PureView – Part 2 Software
Nokia 808 PureView – Part 3 Photography

So this is the final part of my lengthy look at the Nokia 808 PureView. I’m going to get my apologies in early for the dodgy video and audio samples here, which are more the users fault than anything being wrong with the device, but as I returned the phone to Nokia already, there’s not much i can do about it. OK, here we go then, Video and audio recording on the Nokia 808 PureView:

Video

In part 3 I took a close look at the photographic capabilities of the Nokia 808 PureView, which are considerable. How does it stack up during Video recording?

The Nokia 808 PureView can record video in 1080p HD quality, which means that lossless zooming is possible and works very well. Video comes out well, though that entirely depends on who is recording as to whether it’s worth watching.  My cameraman skills leave a lot to be desired, sadly, which can be seen in the sample video.  One nice feature is that it’s equipped with rich recording – basically this means a series of really good mikes so recorded sound should be very clear.

Don’t forget, both of these videos can be viewed at 1080p.

And in contrast to that, here’s a really short, very close range video.

Rich Recording

I was impressed with the sound during video recording and decided to see how it compares to another device – The Nokia N9 (I did record with the Lumia 710 too but couldn’t get the recorded files off the device). The Nokia N9 sounded clearer and crisper than the 808 PureView. However, I have since realized that the N9’s Recorder app was recording at a much higher bitrate (705kbps) than the 808 PureView was (128kbps), so I can’t really call it a fair test, sadly. So for a rich recording sample, see what you make of the audio in the videos above.

So the upshot of this is that audio recording can sound quite good, but if you are making an audio recording with no video and want it to sound good, be sure to check the settings first to make sure it will have the quality you desire.

Performance

Honestly, it’s a mixed bag here. It’s great to open the multitasking view right now and count 12 apps running. Not in some dormant state but running. It’s great that I’ve barely cared about battery life, because as long as I connect it to my PC to transfer some pictures or music for a while each day, it’s fine. It seems, for the most part smooth, quick and does the job.

However, that isn’t the end of it.  Symbian can be awkward with dialogs (for example when installing, or receiving a message), inconstancies (the sometimes split-screen keyboard) and sadly, bugs and crashes. I had to restart the 808 3 or 4 times from what I’m dubbing the “blank screen of death”. The first time I saw this I thought it was turned off as it was totally unresponsive, but then realized the green and red glows beneath the call and end keys were still there. Then there were the times holding the lock switch didn’t turn on the flashlight. I really like Sports Tracker, ahving used if back on a N85 and every device since. I was excited to use it on Symbian again as it’s more feature rich there than on the N9 or Windows Phone. Sadly, the GPS was dropped at some point in my walk every time and as a result, the maps showed me as having walked in a straight line across houses, gardens and other immovable objects, occasionally at incredible speed too. You get the idea – some of these things aren’t catastrophic, but just annoying that mean you can’t do what you set out too.

Conclusions

This is a good phone, a decent media center and an amazing camera.  A person could buy this and quite enjoy using it, well, most of the time anyway. It has frustrations that you will 100% run into at some point.  There will be apps you want that you can’t find as well, and sadly, the list will likely only grow as Symbian nears end of life .  If you can put up with that, then this could be a great phone for you, for now. Lets face it. This is the best camera phone on the market and will be after the release of the iPhone 5, Lumia 920 and any other phone announced for release this summer.  If you want that raw photographic  power in your hands, wherever you are, with no worries about forgetting to bring your camera with you, this could be for you. However, if you care more about a smooth, consistent mobile experience, or absolute app availability, or just want something either smaller or thinner and more fashionable, then you will probably not find this a good fit.

As I mentioned in the software section, Feature Pack 2 is now available and might give yo a better experience than the one I had. To get the full details about this update and what it provides, please read this article on Nokia Conversations:

Update makes the Nokia 808 PureView even better

About bluechrism

I am a software developer with most professional experience in the Windows .Net realm and I'm currently a WPF developer with Starkey Labs. However, I have wanted for some time to start the mobile developer journey properly and being an N900 owner, this was to be in the realm of QT. Job hunting, moving to Minnesota and changing jobs put my plans on hold 6-12 months but things are starting to settle now, just as I'm getting sorted to start some things, Microsoft and Nokia merge. This blog is about my novice mobile development experiences and hopefully will end up complete with links to download some apps on various platforms, but obviously by the name, Sybian, Maemo/Meego and Windows Mobile. In other stuff, I am English, I support Everton FC, I have visited Glastonbury music festival 5 times and recommend it to anyone. I am married and my wife and i have a dog called Friday.
This entry was posted in Nokia, Reviews, Symbian and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Review: Nokia 808 PureView – Part 4 Audio, Recording and Conclusions

  1. Pingback: Review: Nokia 808 PureView – Part 1 Hardware | The MicroNokia Developer

  2. Pingback: Review: Nokia 808 PureView – Part 2 Software | The MicroNokia Developer

  3. Pingback: Review: Nokia 808 PureView – Part 3 Photography | The MicroNokia Developer

Leave a Reply

