Nokia Luna Headset Review

This next paragraph was written a few weeks back when I first got the Luna headset:
So lucky me, I won a Nokia Luna headset. I have to admit, i didn’t realize this was the prize on offer when entering the competiiton (I thought it was something else) and was skeptical about how much use I would get out of it. However, I think it may prove to be very useful, and am growing to like it.

Did that ‘liking it’ feeling continue to grow since then? I’ll tell you at the end, though I’m sure you’ll have figured it out by then.

Luna headset and holderThe Luna headset is small, about 1 inch /2.5cm in each direction with a triangular back, from which the ear piece sticks out at a slight angle. It fits in a circular holder which is used to charge it. To take it out, simply press down and it will spring up just enough to take out.  The act of taking it out and putting it back can pick up and hang up calls,  with the holder pushing on a small button on one side of the Luna as it goes in and out. Frankly, this button is fiddly to find and press any other way so it really is best to keep it in its charger until you need it. The charger works with a micro USB port and also has a built in NFC chip. Tap the back of your N9 to the back of the Luna charger to pair. There is also the option of pairing to the headset by looking up the list of nearby Bluetooth devices in your phones Bluetooth settings.

So far so good – looks nice, works with Bluetooth and NFC and picking up the headset can pick up a call.  One catch is that it doesn’t begin to connect via bluetooth until you remove it from the holder which is a little disconcerting.

It may come as no surpise then, that I found this behavior a bit inconsistent at times, especially when using the N9.  A few times it just didn’t pair when I picked it up, leaving me dashing to take the call normally, a second or so before it would gave gone to voice-mail. It seemed to work better with a Lumia 710 though, and maybe its a phone thing. I’ve always been impressed with how fast Windows Phone devices have picked up Bluetooth connections, and occasionally my N9 can be slow to connect to a Bluetooth device so maybe it’s the phone, not the Luna that’s the problem here.

Call quality once connected was good, though I did have to switch to using the handset only on one occasion as a person cat a call center was struggling to hear me at times, but most calls have been good, and I’m told I sound fairly normal when using it.  In the ear it isn’t the most comfortable and has no alternative size ear-bud to use.  The comfort thing is probably just me – I always have to swap out the size of bud I use on any headphones like this, so in the end the only thing to really say is that it would have been nice to get some larger and smaller ones along with it.

So in the end, nice idea. I wish the execution was more reliable though in terms of knowing when popping the Luna out if it’s holder, it was going to connect and pick up your call. Still I like this little device in general and I’m glad to own this one.

About bluechrism

I am a software developer with most professional experience in the Windows .Net realm and I'm currently a WPF developer with Starkey Labs. However, I have wanted for some time to start the mobile developer journey properly and being an N900 owner, this was to be in the realm of QT. Job hunting, moving to Minnesota and changing jobs put my plans on hold 6-12 months but things are starting to settle now, just as I'm getting sorted to start some things, Microsoft and Nokia merge. This blog is about my novice mobile development experiences and hopefully will end up complete with links to download some apps on various platforms, but obviously by the name, Sybian, Maemo/Meego and Windows Mobile. In other stuff, I am English, I support Everton FC, I have visited Glastonbury music festival 5 times and recommend it to anyone. I am married and my wife and i have a dog called Friday.
This entry was posted in Nokia, Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

