In praise of the HTC HD2

This isn’t quite an obituary, but it feels close. Just after getting Windows Phone 7 satisfactorily set up on my HD2, I dropped it and the screen, which already had one crack in one corner, suffered a much bigger crack, extending most of the way up the screen from the bottom right. It is for now, what I’d always intended it to be – a spare phone for development only.

However, I have to say how versatile a phone it is. In the year since I bought it on a friends advice, it has run several versions of Windows Phone, Android (Un-skinned/Nexus gingerbread, Sense, MIUI, and Un-skinned/Nexux Ice Cream Sandwich, and of course Windows Mobile 6.5. In all these cases, 98% of functionality was there, sometimes 100% depending on the rom. Some times the install was full of geek-ware, other times it was clean. And usually, it was unlocked which is great for testing apps if you are using Windows Phone and don’t yet have an app-hub account. See the xda-developers website to see how versatile it really is.

And as a Windows Phone it has worked pretty well, limited by a poor camera, and the 8GB Micro SD card i put in it, but little else. It has doubled as a HTC titan, HD7 and also a Nokia Lumia 710 (you’ll have to look elsewhere for instructions on how to do this) allowing me to use Nokia Drive and Public Transit, The latter is really nice, I just wish it wouldn’t always include the short hop bus rides that don’t actually get you to your destination faster, but connect between 2 routes that run a block or two apart.

So thank-you to HTC for making such a versatile device and devices so similar internally that getting it to run these other platforms seems easy to those who know how. Not only that, but the screen was great to us, and the speaker was nice and loud, plus under Windows Phone 7 it seemed lightning fast connecting to bluetooth devices. It has never been my first device, but it has allowed me to experiment with other platforms without having to buy a new phone every time. And if you are someone like me, always wanting to try something different, and you ahve a bit of that mindset that it’s ok if you have to put some time in to flash your device every now and then, the HD2 is still, very much recommended.

About bluechrism

I am a software developer with most professional experience in the Windows .Net realm and I'm currently a WPF developer with Starkey Labs. However, I have wanted for some time to start the mobile developer journey properly and being an N900 owner, this was to be in the realm of QT. Job hunting, moving to Minnesota and changing jobs put my plans on hold 6-12 months but things are starting to settle now, just as I'm getting sorted to start some things, Microsoft and Nokia merge. This blog is about my novice mobile development experiences and hopefully will end up complete with links to download some apps on various platforms, but obviously by the name, Sybian, Maemo/Meego and Windows Mobile. In other stuff, I am English, I support Everton FC, I have visited Glastonbury music festival 5 times and recommend it to anyone. I am married and my wife and i have a dog called Friday.
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

