CES arrival and a first look at the Lumia 710

So Here I am in Las Vegas and it already got amazing.  The flight, limo and room at the Mirage that Nokia has sorted has been brilliant and yet, things are just getting going.  My day took things a little out of order, but the second line of the “Do Disturb” sign they gave me really has proven true:

This evening, just after dinner I given a bag of goodies (others had received their already). And what a bag it was.

So as you can see, in there is a nice new Lumia 710 (complete with active MicroSim) in the pile. This phone comes out on T-Mobile on Wednesday, though if you are an AT&T subscriber and you can get one unlocked, it will run 3G just fine for you too. Sadly, I understand it isn’t to keep, but we do get to keep it for a month. So what’s it like i hear you ask?  Pretty nice, though it doesn’t wow like the N9/Lumia 800 does.

It is very light though and fits well in the had.  It has a rubbery feel to the back which means adds a nice amount of grip when holding it. However, the front is a finger print magnet. The 3 Windows keys, here as one long button, are easy to find and use, though they don’t light up with the screen, but light up when pressed and go off if not pressed for long. The camera key is easy to find, but not always easy to use – sometimes hard to tell when the half push has happened. The screen is nice enough to look at, and has pretty good viewing angles too. Overall, it feels reasonably well built. So here’s a few pictures of it:

For the most part, the OS is standard Windows Phone, but with the Nokia apps added, and the Nokia Collection available from the marketplace.  There is also a Nokia Blue theme color. Contacts transfer was easy to use to copy contacts from my N9 and being Windows Phone, I had my accounts set up in no time.

The Camera is a 5MP camera with a single LED flash.  I took a few quick photo’s and it did OK, with a decent bit of noise in each picture, though colors were mostly good. Here’s the same photo of all the goodies on the chair, but taken on the Lumia 710.

Ok, that’s all for now. I will do a full review in due course, once I’ve had some time to use it fully. In the meantime, it’s CES and tomorrow promises to be an Amazing day.

About bluechrism

I am a software developer with most professional experience in the Windows .Net realm and I'm currently a WPF developer with Starkey Labs. However, I have wanted for some time to start the mobile developer journey properly and being an N900 owner, this was to be in the realm of QT. Job hunting, moving to Minnesota and changing jobs put my plans on hold 6-12 months but things are starting to settle now, just as I'm getting sorted to start some things, Microsoft and Nokia merge. This blog is about my novice mobile development experiences and hopefully will end up complete with links to download some apps on various platforms, but obviously by the name, Sybian, Maemo/Meego and Windows Mobile. In other stuff, I am English, I support Everton FC, I have visited Glastonbury music festival 5 times and recommend it to anyone. I am married and my wife and i have a dog called Friday.
This entry was posted in Events, Microsoft, Nokia, Windows Phone and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to CES arrival and a first look at the Lumia 710

  1. Pingback: My amazing CES experince | The MicroNokia Developer

Leave a Reply

