First week with the Nokia N9 – day 3, and 4.

My 3rd day with the phone happened to be a lazy day.  My main use was Twitter, though I was nicely surprised to get a Skype  message from someone, which came through just like a text. This was nice and reminded me of the N900. Another nice feature is that if you are using it in landscape view, swiping down to close still works by swiping down, as in the gesture rotates with the view.

One app I got tried is sports tracker. The Symbian favorite has an elegant implementation, albeit with a reduced feature set. Still, looks nice and works well.

Day 4:

Really enjoying notifications on the Amoled screen, and especially now that Email is included in that.  As a way of getting notified of Direct messages on twitter, i have added as a favorite Email folder, the folder where my twitter emails go to.    It would be nicer if you did get an alert whenever you got a mention or Direct Message that is unique to twitter or is atleas a separate social notification.

In the evening I did a bit of downloading.  The Nokia Store’s content for the N9 is certainly less than you might hope for, but also certainly more than the excellent N90 ever had.  A couple of notable names are there such as Nokia Internet Radio, Sports tracker, Spotify, Groupon.  There are a lot of absentees too but I was able to download several useful apps.

One is called Calendar Feed and basically adds yuor calendar entries to the feeds screen. This is really nice.  gpodder was able to find a few podcasts for me and Circus and Airport are faily addictive games.  Circus especiall so – Airport falls down because it’s too simplisic and has no high scores or other features. Butaca looks a decent movie listings app too.

However, there is no wordpress app here you – Windows hone has one that is decent, and the Symbian 3 one is decent too, but here i miss it.  I tried to write a bit of a post for this site but it was very very slow. Just a bad experience really.

Lastly, I experimented a bit with the TV connection, using the cables from my old N900.  This works really well and images, videos and games looked sharp on my 32″ 1080p Tv.  I plaed a bit of NFS Shift and found no lag. It was a pleasant experience, though less pleasant is that however you hold the device, the view on the TV screen was always landscape. This felt a bit strange, especially when the music player was side on on the TV.

About bluechrism

I am a software developer with most professional experience in the Windows .Net realm and I'm currently a WPF developer with Starkey Labs. However, I have wanted for some time to start the mobile developer journey properly and being an N900 owner, this was to be in the realm of QT. Job hunting, moving to Minnesota and changing jobs put my plans on hold 6-12 months but things are starting to settle now, just as I'm getting sorted to start some things, Microsoft and Nokia merge. This blog is about my novice mobile development experiences and hopefully will end up complete with links to download some apps on various platforms, but obviously by the name, Sybian, Maemo/Meego and Windows Mobile. In other stuff, I am English, I support Everton FC, I have visited Glastonbury music festival 5 times and recommend it to anyone. I am married and my wife and i have a dog called Friday.
This entry was posted in MeeGo, Nokia and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

