First week with the Nokia N9 – Day 1 Setting up

So i have finally be able to get my hands on a Nokia N9 or two and am now using one of those as my daily phone.  It arrived two days ago and I instantly went to the T-Mobile store for a micro-SIM, not thinking the would deactivate my normal size one.  So my N8 is now Sim-less (which reminds me how much these devices can do beyond calls/texts) and the N9 is ready to go.  Each of the next 7 days I will post about my experiences – the good, the bad.  I’ll posts a review in a couple of weeks but rater than post some sort of first impressions, I am doing this.  This post covers a day and a half really.

I have to confess, even though i have this beautiful device, there are one or two things that do disappoint and one or two things which the N8 does so much better and I am still trying to figure that out.

I was so happy to get my hands on this Thursday lunchtime and went with a coworker to pick it up.  From the Fedex office, we were off to the mall and the T-Mobile booth for a micro-sim before heading upstairs to the food court to eat, during which we played with these gorgeous devices.

And it does look beautify, and the screen is amazing.  Pentile eh? Whatever, it seriously doesn’t matter.  The display is clear and sharp and looks wonderful.  Contacts came in quickly for me from twitter and Google, though i have to confess, i don’t know if the Google ones pulled in all the detail or not.  Syncing with my N8 via bluetooth was simple for all the people stored on my phone.  getting set up on my other accounts was easy too and  a fairly seamless experience.  All in all I had 3 mail accounts, Skype, Twitter, Flickr and my Nokia account all set up in just a few minutes.

Shortly after i had a text message from my wife. In replying i used the keyboard.  I don’t think it is that much bigger physically than the one on the N8 (belle) but it feels so much better to type on and almost as good as the Windows Phone keyboard.

Connecting it to the PC i was pleasantly surprise to find that if you choose Sync and Connect instead of mass storage, you get the best of both worlds and unless yo are copying on files that would be needed right away (e.g listening to music and you add mp3’s) you can do pretty much whatever you need to on the phone and it will still update. It was about this time though that i discovered one of the first bad things about the device – storage.  The 16Gb device I bought had just 9.5GB for me to use due to partitioning, and of that 1.6GB was already taken.  the remainder is reserved for apps.  I have 12Gb of music so i now have to think about which artists and albums to copy and sync as i won’t get everything.

Exploring the settings i did come across a few cool things. Firstly, in email you have a favorite folders  space on the front page of the app.  You can disable this and have it preview the inbox of an account.  This is nice (though i did go back to the favorite folders, which is also nice).  I also came across options for Dolby Surround for music and video, and which does actually make a difference.  I used the headphones today and experimented with changing the setting, though it wasn’t always easy to decide how I preferred it to be set, I currently have it turned on.  The battery monitor and data counters will be useful.

I had a upgrade notice while at work and so to save my data plan i used Nokia Software Updater to install the update.  This was about 1GB in total and at the end of the update Nokia Software Updater showed the update as failed, but the N9 booted right in and I am enjoying the tweeks that pr1.1 brings.

The bundled headphones got used a decent bit today and i can honestly say i like them a lot more than I thought i would.  The tiny inline remote works well, because being so small with only 1 button, it has almost no weight unlike the others I have used where the weight of the thing pulls the headphone out if it becomes unclipped.  In a call my wife said I sounded normal, though a bit of wind noise when i was outside.  For other headsets I have heard here moan that she can’t hear me, or the sound of the cable moving is distraction, or some other thing, so it’s good to know that the headphones will do well in calls.

I have downloaded a few apps, and replaced my maps (which came with Singapore preloaded) which took a while last night, partly because it kept dropping my WiFi connection.  I really don’t know why it does this.  My N90 didn’t lie our WiFi either, but the N8 and HTC hD2 (with Windows Phone 7.5)have no problem connecting and keeping connected. It is annoying too because the WiFi icon will stay for a decent while after the connection is gone.

Speaking of maps, i used one to drive into work today.  Its a nice UI on the maps and a far cry from the N90. However, it was missing features relative to the Symbian version – one being traffic data collection, and using that data when route planning.

So yeah, all in all, a good first day.

Positives

  • Quick and easy account setup
  • super intuitive UI
  • Email favorite folders
  • The feeds view
  • Contact syncing

Negatives:

  • Drops WiFi connection
  • Partitioned memory
  • May not have loaded all Google contact data
About bluechrism

I am a software developer with most professional experience in the Windows .Net realm and I'm currently a WPF developer with Starkey Labs. However, I have wanted for some time to start the mobile developer journey properly and being an N900 owner, this was to be in the realm of QT. Job hunting, moving to Minnesota and changing jobs put my plans on hold 6-12 months but things are starting to settle now, just as I'm getting sorted to start some things, Microsoft and Nokia merge. This blog is about my novice mobile development experiences and hopefully will end up complete with links to download some apps on various platforms, but obviously by the name, Sybian, Maemo/Meego and Windows Mobile. In other stuff, I am English, I support Everton FC, I have visited Glastonbury music festival 5 times and recommend it to anyone. I am married and my wife and i have a dog called Friday.
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

