Nokia Astound vs N900 camera challenge

So at Nokia Unfenced, just because I was given a Nokia Astound to use didn’t mean I stopped taking some pictures with my N900. The Carl Zeiss Tessar 5MP camera has been reliable for me over the last year or so, and while I don’t want to suggest it’s up there with the N8, it should still be reasonable enough to see the effect of the EDoF lens on the Astound vs the Auto Focus of the N900. I have included some close up shots, though it seems I didn’t take any nigh shots with the N900 that are at all similar to the Astound ones.

All pics at max resolution and a couple of the Astound ones are with Vivid color mode turned on. Let me know which you prefer. N900 always comes First/ Left, Astound always Second/Right.

Horses

Sign N900Sign Astound

On Trooper

N900 On TrooperAstound On Trooper

Plane

N900 Plane 1N900 Plane 2Astound Plane 1Astound Plane 2

Building

N900 BuildingAstound Building

On Exiting the Mine (Astound in Vivid color mode)

N900 Outside the MineAstound Outside the Mine *Vivid

Miners Hut

N900 Miners HutAstound Miners Hut

Grinder

N900 GrinderAstound Grinder

Gears (OK, I’ve no idea what this is) close up

N900 GearsAstound Gears

Car (Astound Vivid)

N900 CarAstound Car *Vivid

About bluechrism

I am a software developer with most professional experience in the Windows .Net realm and I'm currently a WPF developer with Starkey Labs. However, I have wanted for some time to start the mobile developer journey properly and being an N900 owner, this was to be in the realm of QT. Job hunting, moving to Minnesota and changing jobs put my plans on hold 6-12 months but things are starting to settle now, just as I'm getting sorted to start some things, Microsoft and Nokia merge. This blog is about my novice mobile development experiences and hopefully will end up complete with links to download some apps on various platforms, but obviously by the name, Sybian, Maemo/Meego and Windows Mobile. In other stuff, I am English, I support Everton FC, I have visited Glastonbury music festival 5 times and recommend it to anyone. I am married and my wife and i have a dog called Friday.
This entry was posted in Events, General, Nokia and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Nokia Astound vs N900 camera challenge

  1. The N900 is better even only being 5mp the Auto Focus makes all the difference.

  2. Pingback: Nokia Astound vs N900 camera challenge | WOMWorld/Nokia

  3. vivmak says:

    N900 much more natural colors, better contrast and yes its just 5MP

  4. m80116 says:

    I much prefer the Astound.

    It has noticeably wider dynamic range, better colour reproduction, better sharpness throughout the scene and better exposure.

    It also copes quite well with the close-up image. I’d definitly go for the Astound as all around shooter.

Leave a Reply

