Nokia N8 – First Impressions

Today I received a Nokia N8 to begin a 2 week trial of the device, and many thanks to WOMWorld/Nokia for the trial.   I’ll post a full review plus comparisons with other devices like the Astound and N900 before I return the device (hopefully I have a working N900 back in my possession by then).

Nokia N8 So first off, the hardware is all it’s cracked up to be.  It looks and feels like a high end device, the AMOLED screen is bright, the single piece metal body shines and feels very strong and you really feel like you could throw it at a wall and it would bounce of happily with hardly a scratch to be found (I’m not about to test this out).  The buttons are all easy to find too, as is that 12MP camera bulge on the back.  The box comes loaded with a charger, USB connectivity cable and headphones, though unlike most, those headphones have a full in line music remote, and there are also USB and HDMI converter cables, plus a manual.

Turning it on and starting to use it, having been using the C7, you can see the interface areas which have been improved quite quickly and, I have to say, I hope those same improvements come quickly to the N8 in for form of Symbian Anna.  Having said that, I was able to figure everything out quickly and get set up, get my music on, pair with my blue-tooth hands free car kit.  I took a few shots with the camera and they look pretty good and have been listening to music with the back loudspeaker over Wifi.  The speaker is good and loud, though did get a bit muffled when lying face up.

Still, I’ll get more in depth later on. For now I’m excited to use it for these next 2 weeks, and maybe (God willing I get round to it, as there’s been very few developer posts on here recently) develop even a small app for it.

About bluechrism

I am a software developer with most professional experience in the Windows .Net realm and I'm currently a WPF developer with Starkey Labs. However, I have wanted for some time to start the mobile developer journey properly and being an N900 owner, this was to be in the realm of QT. Job hunting, moving to Minnesota and changing jobs put my plans on hold 6-12 months but things are starting to settle now, just as I'm getting sorted to start some things, Microsoft and Nokia merge. This blog is about my novice mobile development experiences and hopefully will end up complete with links to download some apps on various platforms, but obviously by the name, Sybian, Maemo/Meego and Windows Mobile. In other stuff, I am English, I support Everton FC, I have visited Glastonbury music festival 5 times and recommend it to anyone. I am married and my wife and i have a dog called Friday.
This entry was posted in Nokia. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment