Nokia C7 – First week

So I have now had the Nokia C7 for a week, and by a strange coincidence this week, I was contacted by WomWorld for a Nokia trial that I had requested a month or so ago – more on that in future posts.

In the meantime I have now had the C7 for a week.  I have some first impressions of the device – both good and bad, and some initial thoughts on how it compares to the N900 (mine is now heading to a Nokia repair center).Nokia C7

Nokia Astound (actually silver around edges but you wouldn’t know it from this would you?)
Nokia Astound with Sleeping Screen

So first of, it a nice looking phone, comfortable in the hand and feels solidly built.  The call, end and menu keys as well as the lock key are easy to find and use, but the camera key is flush to the side of the phone and small and sometimes harder to use as it’s close to the corner.  The back has stereo speakers and the 8MP EDoF camera next to the metal battery cover, which stays secure, despite how it came off surprisingly easy. Also the microUSb port has a cover on it that is probably fine but feels like with frequent use of the port the cover could be damaged.  It does charge by a proprietary charger you can use instead of Micro USB for that, but if it’s constantly being connected and disconnected from PC’s and other stuff, you may notice some ware here after a while I expect.

The phone has an unpated version of Symbian with a portrait Querty, Swype and a new browser.  I have not yet had an experience of how these things are normally, but the Querty keys can be a bit small and this especially goes for the confirmation/accept key (the green tick).  Swype is taking a bit of getting used to. The browser seems to work well, and defaults to the mobile version of websites.   T-Mobile have added some bloatware – some useful (wifi calling, Visual voicemail, My Account), some not (T-Mobile Mall, TeleNav – especially with Ovi maps on the device TeleNav is never going to be used).

The camera is a big debating point – and I have had mixed results.  I have taken some nice pictures with it, and i have also taken some where the subjects had a fuzzy boarder – not blurry in the normal sense, but the outline was not sharp.

It was easy to get set up with Ovi Suite and Qt on the PC and is great for development, but don’t expect to be able to do anything on the device when your not near your PC (Caveat here – I haven’t tried QuickOffice yet to see if that will open qml and cpp files as plain text or not).

As for Symbian in general, I like some things, and not others – i have several frustrations with it and I have had a few crashes to deal with, plus come across times when the UI has been inconsistent, or unintuitive.  However, I am loving the ability to make real use of Ovi Store, get mail from all 3 mail accounts, and have a lock screen giving me time, text/call notifications and music info.

In a few weeks I’ll write more about Symbian and how it compares to Maemo.  The N900 is now on it’s way to get fixed and it’s probably fair to wait until it;s back with me before I write that.

About bluechrism

I am a software developer with most professional experience in the Windows .Net realm and I'm currently a WPF developer with Starkey Labs. However, I have wanted for some time to start the mobile developer journey properly and being an N900 owner, this was to be in the realm of QT. Job hunting, moving to Minnesota and changing jobs put my plans on hold 6-12 months but things are starting to settle now, just as I'm getting sorted to start some things, Microsoft and Nokia merge. This blog is about my novice mobile development experiences and hopefully will end up complete with links to download some apps on various platforms, but obviously by the name, Sybian, Maemo/Meego and Windows Mobile. In other stuff, I am English, I support Everton FC, I have visited Glastonbury music festival 5 times and recommend it to anyone. I am married and my wife and i have a dog called Friday.
This entry was posted in Nokia. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

