Goodbye N900, Hello C7

So on Thursday I was disconnecting the USB cable from my N900, about to take a call and not wanting to stretch the cable, and as I did so the USB port stayed attached to the cable and not the phone.  Luckily, a co-worker also has an N900 and was able to charge my battery on Friday and let me borrow an N96 for the weekend.

During the weekend I purchased an new Nokia Astound/C7 (and a HTC HD2, but more on that later) and will be giving it a thorough test over the next few weeks as I decide if this will fulfill my needs, or the camera or memory levels mean I return it and look for an N8 instead (E7 definitely not an option financially, and N8 is only because of Amazon gift-cards).  I will be looking to get my N900 fixed so I might even just go back to that if I don’t enjoy Symbain, but since I like a lot about Symbian (though I am glad I got an N900 rather than N97 last time out) I will likely stick with it and maybe put Meego (once they release the developer version) on the N900 if i get it fixed.

Initial impressions are that it’s a nice device, so much lighter, looks great and feels comfy to hold.  I’ll miss the hardware keyboard though, and also, if anyone knows about a free Data Monitor widget and Pedometer widget that come close to the onces created by the Maemo community, please let me know.  Oh, and a good blogging app – the WordPress app in the Ovi store is showing as having been removed! I do like the improved maps though, as well as Nokia Internet radio, and I have missed Sports tracker and the range of games.

Over the next few weeks there will  be several blogs I expect about my initial experience with the phone, a comparison with the N900 and review, plus of course, if i decide to keep it, or switch it and why (assuming i don’t see an N8 (that’s not green, orange or pink) for less thaan the C7, then i’m sure the why will be fairly self evident.

So as mentioned above, I also bought from Ebay a HTC HD2 which has not arrived yet.  I will be installing Windows Phone on it and starting to look a bit more at that OS and developing some apps. I don’t plan to use it as my day to day phone and those who have a Windows Phone tell me to wait until next year to get one, which works for me.

Anyway, my N900 recieving it’s final charge (for now anyway) and phone research and other things of just life filling up time meand i did no Symbian development this weekend. When i next do it will be the first time i try and run something I write on the C7. I’ll post how it goes and how developing o Symbian compares to the N900.

About bluechrism

I am a software developer with most professional experience in the Windows .Net realm and I'm currently a WPF developer with Starkey Labs. However, I have wanted for some time to start the mobile developer journey properly and being an N900 owner, this was to be in the realm of QT. Job hunting, moving to Minnesota and changing jobs put my plans on hold 6-12 months but things are starting to settle now, just as I'm getting sorted to start some things, Microsoft and Nokia merge. This blog is about my novice mobile development experiences and hopefully will end up complete with links to download some apps on various platforms, but obviously by the name, Sybian, Maemo/Meego and Windows Mobile. In other stuff, I am English, I support Everton FC, I have visited Glastonbury music festival 5 times and recommend it to anyone. I am married and my wife and i have a dog called Friday.
This entry was posted in General, News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

