My first developer competition

Nokia have been running a competition for developers to create cool apps or wiki contributions using QtQuick. It launched 6 weeks ago, which means it launched before i even started this blog and when I heard about it I assumed there was a bit more time than there was.  On Thursday I realized that the competition would end today (Sunday) and UK time no less, so although the day hasn’t ended, the competition did some 5 hours ago.

So I had 2 ideas: One would be paging, as seen when switching desktops in Symbian/Maemo/Android as well as many a Photo browser , and the other would be to create a replica of a Windows Phone 7 Hub.  The later could perhaps make use of the technique i come up with for the former.

Well, I did get 2 entries in.  One a well formed Wiki on paging through a dynamic list using a ListView and the second a kind of “this is what I got” of a wiki for Hubs.  I basically ran out of time which is a shame because had i been able to create a control and write how to use it, or create an app to demo a working Hub it would have been way more impressive.

However, as I speak, a paging wiki is the top wiki of the week, but it’s not mine sadly. Thankfully it does use a very different technique to mine, but I also had to acknowledge in mine that I saw how to do some of what I did in a example document in the QtQuick API. That aside, I think my paging wiki was a decent contribution.

So in short, i don’t think I’m going to win a phone.  I did learn a lot though and what I will do is update both wiki’s and create a C++ backed paging project and ultimately, a Windows Hub control of some sort.  Here’s my sneak preview of the Hub wiki:

Pictures Hub on Nokia Qt Simulator You can see the wiki entries at the links below:

I also want to give a quick mention to Ananth who gave me the Windows Phone Hub idea.

About bluechrism

I am a software developer with most professional experience in the Windows .Net realm and I'm currently a WPF developer with Starkey Labs. However, I have wanted for some time to start the mobile developer journey properly and being an N900 owner, this was to be in the realm of QT. Job hunting, moving to Minnesota and changing jobs put my plans on hold 6-12 months but things are starting to settle now, just as I'm getting sorted to start some things, Microsoft and Nokia merge. This blog is about my novice mobile development experiences and hopefully will end up complete with links to download some apps on various platforms, but obviously by the name, Sybian, Maemo/Meego and Windows Mobile. In other stuff, I am English, I support Everton FC, I have visited Glastonbury music festival 5 times and recommend it to anyone. I am married and my wife and i have a dog called Friday.
This entry was posted in Nokia, Qt. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My first developer competition

  1. Pingback: QML Paging Using ListView | The Micronokia Developer

Leave a Reply

