Tutorials and first look at Qt SDK 1.1 Tech preview

Since I last posted I have started hitting the Qt and QtQuick tutorials with very mixed results. I also downloaded and installed the new Qt SDK 1.1 Technical preview. I’ve learned a lot and am excited about the potential of QtQuick in particular.

Tutorials:

Like I said, I had some mixed experiences here.  I did tutorials from within QT, and from Forum.Nokia.  So sadly, the Flikr App tutorial (Nokia Everywhere) didn’t work – I think because Flikr has changed it’s authentication requirements for it’s API.   It was interesting none the less.  Also, i was  not able to get the Maemo one to work properly.  The Battery Mobile indicator has been updated a bit for the new 1.1 SDK abd worked well.

As for QtQuick, the 3 part Hello world tutorial I did worked well, though the results were not that impressive, but it did provide a good into to MouseAreas, and transitions. The Same Game tutorial was much more impressive and enjoyable, though a little long.  The new SDK also comes with a Qt Quick tutorial which was a good into to states and the new bits of Qt Creator.

QT SDK 1.1 Tech Preview

Which brings me to the new SDK.  The main thing is that it n ow has a designer and viewer built in for Qt Quick:

Qt Crator screenshot

All looks pretty nice and works well for the most part.  However, there is a big bug for those running on the windows version – the QML Viewer, for simulating QtQuick applications doesn’t work – you have to copy the QML to your phone and run it using qml viewer there (see my previous post about QML on your phone) .  It seems to work fine on Linux though.

Also, all the tutorials (except for the one in the tech preview), aren’t geared towards using a designer.  I tried to use it but ended up switching to the code editor and deleting lots of properties that were set when i didn’t want them to be.

Still, it’s nice to have the designer and I like this addition to Qt Creator.

About bluechrism

I am a software developer with most professional experience in the Windows .Net realm and I'm currently a WPF developer with Starkey Labs. However, I have wanted for some time to start the mobile developer journey properly and being an N900 owner, this was to be in the realm of QT. Job hunting, moving to Minnesota and changing jobs put my plans on hold 6-12 months but things are starting to settle now, just as I'm getting sorted to start some things, Microsoft and Nokia merge. This blog is about my novice mobile development experiences and hopefully will end up complete with links to download some apps on various platforms, but obviously by the name, Sybian, Maemo/Meego and Windows Mobile. In other stuff, I am English, I support Everton FC, I have visited Glastonbury music festival 5 times and recommend it to anyone. I am married and my wife and i have a dog called Friday.
This entry was posted in Nokia, Qt. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

