QtQuick – How to develop for the device, on the device

One cool thing about QtQuick that I realized today is that it should be possible to develop for you device, on your device. And i can now say that yes, it’s only a Hello World app, but at no point was a PC involved in making it (except for research in how to do it).

So my device is an N900 and i don’t know if this is possible on Symbian – if you can get a terminal for example.  So here’s how to write a QtQuick HelloWorld app on your N900 and run it.

Prerequisites

  1. Make sure you are using PR1.3 which includes QT 4.7.  If not, update your device.
  2. Get the QTQuick 1.0 Compatibly plug-in.  This can be found in the Development section under Application Manager.
  3. Get rootsh to enable root access through the terminal – this can be got through the Application Manger.
  4. Get the QML Viewer – to do this open x-term.  Type the following commands:
    1. sudo gainroot
    2. apt-get update
    3. apt-get install qt4-declarative-qmlviewer

    The first command gives root access.  The second updates the catalogs and the 3rd installs qmlviewer.

  5. Get an editor – I used PyGTKEditor from the Development section of Application Manager.

So here’s my development apps (x-terminal shows in the System folder).

Apps in my Development folder

Apps in my Development folder (using Catorise)

Creating the app

  1. Open your editor.
  2. Enter the code from the QtQuick – Basic Types Tutorial. You can use Fn (the blue arrow) + Sym/CTRL to bring up the extra symbols like { } | [ ] and ~.  
    PyGTKEditorEditor in N900

    PyGTKEditorEditor in N900

  3. Save the file somewhere memorable – e.g QtQuick/Tutorials, and call the file helloworld.qml
  4. Either:
    1. Open x-term
    2. enter cd QtQuick/Tutorial
    3. enter qmlviewer helloworld.qml
  5. Or
    1. Open QML Viewer
    2. Tap the title bar and choose Open
    3. Browse to helloworld.qml

And that’s it.

HelloWorld app on my N900

Hello World

About bluechrism

I am a software developer with most professional experience in the Windows .Net realm and I'm currently a WPF developer with Starkey Labs. However, I have wanted for some time to start the mobile developer journey properly and being an N900 owner, this was to be in the realm of QT. Job hunting, moving to Minnesota and changing jobs put my plans on hold 6-12 months but things are starting to settle now, just as I'm getting sorted to start some things, Microsoft and Nokia merge. This blog is about my novice mobile development experiences and hopefully will end up complete with links to download some apps on various platforms, but obviously by the name, Sybian, Maemo/Meego and Windows Mobile. In other stuff, I am English, I support Everton FC, I have visited Glastonbury music festival 5 times and recommend it to anyone. I am married and my wife and i have a dog called Friday.
This entry was posted in How To, Nokia, Qt. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to QtQuick – How to develop for the device, on the device

  1. Pingback: Tutorials and first look at Qt SDK 1.1 Tech preview | The Micronokia Developer

  2. Aldin Lapinig says:

    Ey man… I just read your blog and reading it inspires me a lot to pursue mobile development. I am pretty much a newbie in the programming world and mobile app development when it comes to real-world (industry) experience. But I’ve been doing Electronics Research and Development focused on RFID, GSM, and Microcontrollers systems integration (3-man team). Ok here’s my life story summary:
    1. Studied Computer Engineering, learned a lot from my Korean mentor who used
    to work as a researcher in Samsung and Daewoo.
    2. Because of my college final project, 2005 (RFID systems), my Prof. invited me to
    start up a small RnD company in our locality (which I happily accepted refusing
    other job opportunities in London and US).
    3. Stopped the venture after 3 years and unsuccessful due to lack of investments,
    and my Prof. went back to Korea to take up Ph.D.
    4. Started my own business to survive (completely unrelated to my career path)
    5. He called me up again after 3 years to reestablish RnD company but of course
    with mobile apps development included.

    Now, I started my learning yesterday. And I’m glad I found your blog. I would like to get more information from you if it would be ok. I can always share some if I have something to share, man. I hope to get to know you better. We really lack knowledge resources here in the Philippines and our real goal in starting up the RnD here is to help my country gain pace in the fast-changing, technology-driven world. That’s why I stayed.

    My exact location (a small city): http://maps.google.com/maps?q=Dumaguete+City,+Negros+oriental+google+maps&oe=utf-8&client=firefox-a&ie=UTF8&hq=&hnear=Dumaguete+City,+Negros+Oriental,+Central+Visayas&gl=ph&z=12

  3. Pingback: Deploying Qt apps to Symbian 3 is easy | The Micronokia Developer

Leave a Reply

