Hello world!

Hello world is commonly the first program that someone writes in a new language so it’s appropriate that WordPress gives you this as the title for the first post on a new blog.

So what is micronokiadev and how did this come about.

There is a short answer but I’m going to give the longer one.  Well, I’m a software developer at Starkey where I work as a WPF developer in /Net 4.0 using C#.   I became this last summer when I finally moved from a unsatisfying job with the threat of my post being outsourced in the near future.  The 8 months prior to that had been dominated jy job hunting activities after a new CIO at my previous employer announced a change in direction, a reduction in staff, and the offshore outsourcing of aspects of my department – right as my wife and I were 2 weeks from closing on a house.  At the time I was enjoying my recently purchased Nokia N900 phone and looking forward to developing for it.

So much of my free time over the last year has been taken by reading job boards and writing cover letters.  I am happy to be at Starkey and the job is really what I was after.  Since starting, my wife and I then focused on the next part, buy a house.  We completed that at the end of last year.  In December i downloaded QT from Nokia and wrote my first app – a battery monitor app from a how too.  Since then snow hit and many other things have meant that I’ve done very little development.  I have now got started on a  couple of small things in WPF, but I’m really wanting to get cracking in mobile.

Then what happens – Nokia announces that their primary platform going forward will be Windows Phone.  What?? Windows phone??  After I was getting excited about having time to start developing QT after so long?  So after the emotions have died down a bit from that -more on that in separate post I’m sure, I have decided to fully embrace what Nokia are saying, both about Windows Phone and Symbian / Maemo/Meego/QT.   I will develop inn both platforms – after all, i was always excited by QT because it’s open source and cross platform and still is, with or without Nokia support.  As for Windows Mobile, I’m a WPF developer, Silverlights big brother.  So doing this I will learn, I will become a better developer, I will develop for open source, I will improve my career value and give myself a better chance of succeeding at work too, and I will be able to come home and develop things that are different to my job.

So, I’m a developer working with Microsft and Nokia tools.  There have been various amalgamations for the 2 company names banded about over the week – Microkia, Nokrosoft, Nokiasoft, Micronokia.  The last works best for me so micronokiadev was born.

So there we are.  I will post about my experience in getting into mobile development, plus any tips, tricks or cool things that i discover.  I’ll probably write occasionally about cool technology, my opinion of tech news and developing i other languages or tools.

About bluechrism

I am a software developer with most professional experience in the Windows .Net realm and I'm currently a WPF developer with Starkey Labs. However, I have wanted for some time to start the mobile developer journey properly and being an N900 owner, this was to be in the realm of QT. Job hunting, moving to Minnesota and changing jobs put my plans on hold 6-12 months but things are starting to settle now, just as I'm getting sorted to start some things, Microsoft and Nokia merge. This blog is about my novice mobile development experiences and hopefully will end up complete with links to download some apps on various platforms, but obviously by the name, Sybian, Maemo/Meego and Windows Mobile. In other stuff, I am English, I support Everton FC, I have visited Glastonbury music festival 5 times and recommend it to anyone. I am married and my wife and i have a dog called Friday.
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

