Nokia 808 PureView first impressions

So on the eve of the Nokia / Microsoft event in New York, I find myself opening up a box containing a Nokia 808 PureView.  The box is that short, rectangular box they have been using since the N9 last year and this means it’s a snug package, but also means that sadly, there isn’t much in there accessory wise- in that respect, this is no N8. However, before you get to the accessories you have to take out the device, which feels solid with a good weight to it and premium feel, despite being plastic.

This evening I have dived straight in to using it and getting it set up and in general am enjoying it, but it clearly isn’t without it’s shortcomings.  However, when you first turn it on, the screen is brilliant, and Symbian looks better than I have ever seen it do so before, with vibrant colors and responsive touch.  After I had loaded a few tracks on I found it sounds brilliant too, with a good, loud and clear speaker that is built into the camera hump.  I enjoyed listing via the FM Transmitter whilst driving on an errand – I have missed that, despite the Bluetooth car kit I use with my N9 and Lumia 710.

Speaking of the N9, I used NFC to transfer contacts which wasn’t as straightforward as it might have been with some items transferring when launching the sync from the 808, and others when initiated from the N9. We all know it can take pictures and I’m sure I’ll eulogize about that in a post pretty soon, but aside from that, I did notice how my finger naturally wanted to rest dangerously close to the lens – oh for an N85 style lens cap, though I’m sure that would have just added even more thickness.

Another issue I had was given the gorgeous 4″ screen, how difficult the Symbian keyboard is to use compared to those on Meego and Windows Phone.  Even with swipe, which annoyingly still can’t work in-line. And there was a moment one app may have crashed, on open or just never opened on me.  Hmm. Oh yes, and as for the accessories – basic wired ear-buds (which I haven’t used yet – they might be good), USB cable, wall charger and lanyard. Pretty standard stuff really, which is a shame as the 808 PureView is in many ways, far from your standard cell phone (yes, even beyond that amazing camera).

So the good and the bad of this device are already coming to light, but still, this is a fantastically capable device and I’ve barely scratched the surface (probably not a great figure of speech to use when talking about a touch-screen phone). I’m looking forward to seeing what it can do and will share more in due course.

About bluechrism

I am a software developer with most professional experience in the Windows .Net realm and I'm currently a WPF developer with Starkey Labs. However, I have wanted for some time to start the mobile developer journey properly and being an N900 owner, this was to be in the realm of QT. Job hunting, moving to Minnesota and changing jobs put my plans on hold 6-12 months but things are starting to settle now, just as I'm getting sorted to start some things, Microsoft and Nokia merge. This blog is about my novice mobile development experiences and hopefully will end up complete with links to download some apps on various platforms, but obviously by the name, Sybian, Maemo/Meego and Windows Mobile. In other stuff, I am English, I support Everton FC, I have visited Glastonbury music festival 5 times and recommend it to anyone. I am married and my wife and i have a dog called Friday.
This entry was posted in Nokia, Reviews, Symbian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

