Hotmail issues on N9 (or other device)? Here’s a workaround…(Updated)

So for several weeks now I have had issues with my Hotmail account on my N9.  It’s fine through the website and it’s fine on Windows Phone but not as a Mail For Exchange account on my N9.  I have seen posts with similar issues for iOS, Android and WebOS too, though it does seem to be a small percentage of people affected.  And unless you are doing calendar and or contact syncing as well as email, you probably won’t notice.

It seems that back in late May, Microsoft switched some servers about and moved some accounts.  If you have a Exchange account set up to point to m.hotmail.com this should still work as long as your device redirects properly to the new location.   The new location could be one of several and it’s a bit of work to figure out exactly which. Once you have this though, if entering this server address in your account settings in place of m.hotmail.com doesn’t fix it for you, the work around is to have 2 accounts:

  • Mail for exchange syncing calendar, contacts etc
  • A normal email setup for your email.

If this isn’t an option for you, Microsoft are responding to individual complaints (they need your account details to verify which server addresses you should be using) on their support pages – they have a private area so no account information is public so no personal information will be shared with others. Click here to read the thread and get individual help.

If you want to just sort it yourself and move on, here is something to try. The hard part is to find out what the address should be for calendar and contacts syncing. You can check Michael Faro-Tusino’s post on MyNokiaBlog for one way to find out your server address, and a possible solution using the memailsettings application, which could be simpler than what’s given below.  If this doesn’t work for you, read on.

The information below regarding this is MeeGo specific.

  1. Find out what server address you are using.  I will redirect you to this post on the Maemo community forum to set up log files on your N9.  The one you need is the activesync log, created using the activesync.conf text document that is outlined here. Once that’s on your N9 and you have tried to sync email, hook your N9 back up to your computer and get the log file. Open it in an advanced text editor (such as Notepad++ – download here – this will format the document way better than notepad would). Look for “X-MS-Location” and see what server address is being given . For me it was “snt-m.hotmail.com”, but it might be different for you.
  2. Edit your mail for exchange connection setting and replace m.hotmail.com with this address and try to sync all the services you need.
  3. If it fails, disable email syncing for this account and try to sync your contacts and calendar.
  4. Create a separate email account for Hotmail.  Enter your Hotmail address and password in the “Other Account” setup screen and choose automatic configuration if prompted.

Ok, so it’s not quite as nice as just having your Hotmail services sync through 1 mail for exchange account, but it does work. You get all your email, and your contacts and calendar are synced.

About bluechrism

I am a software developer with most professional experience in the Windows .Net realm and I'm currently a WPF developer with Starkey Labs. However, I have wanted for some time to start the mobile developer journey properly and being an N900 owner, this was to be in the realm of QT. Job hunting, moving to Minnesota and changing jobs put my plans on hold 6-12 months but things are starting to settle now, just as I'm getting sorted to start some things, Microsoft and Nokia merge. This blog is about my novice mobile development experiences and hopefully will end up complete with links to download some apps on various platforms, but obviously by the name, Sybian, Maemo/Meego and Windows Mobile. In other stuff, I am English, I support Everton FC, I have visited Glastonbury music festival 5 times and recommend it to anyone. I am married and my wife and i have a dog called Friday.
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Hotmail issues on N9 (or other device)? Here’s a workaround…(Updated)

  1. diana says:

    Thanks! I found your instructions (part 2) easy to follow. I got my email back.
    Still not clear why my Ipod keeps getting the messages all right, while my N9 can’t.

  2. N9_User says:

    I just want to sync the Mail (without calendar and contacts) but still doesn’t work!

  3. Jyrgen says:

    Is there yet any other way to get support for this particular case of MfE for N9 vs. Hotmail from Microsoft than posting personal account information on their semi-public user forum?

  4. Jyrgen says:

    On the other hand, instructions posted here presented a good workaround for this issue which has annoyed quite some time. I hope server addresses fetched from log file aren’t dynamic, so this workaround doesn’t need to be applied repeatedly every time e.g. when I switch from mobile network to wifi or between different wifi networks?

    • bluechrism says:

      So far I haven’t experienced that yet (though right now I’ve had other issues with account settings, but that’s only because I decided to check out the Nitdroid project).

      If you do experince that, perhaps Michael Faro-Tusino’s article on MyNokiaBlog yesterday can help. I (hopefully) will be updating this article with some of that info but haven’t got around to it yet.

      • Jyrgen says:

        I have tested this configuration with different networks now, and have experienced no problems so far; Supposedly server pool prefix is bound to particular account.

Leave a Reply

