QtQuick competition update

No luck for me sadly, my entries were not good enough to get me a new Nokia E7.  Ultimately, the deadline caught me off guard and if my initial postings were more like they are now I would have been in with a shout, but at the time, everything I had put up was a bit raw and unpolished.

Having said that, I learned a lot and will be looking to do some more QML development, and get some more experience over the next few weeks.  I really enjoyed the task of creating the wiki’s and the project has helped me understand QML much better.  Hopefully I will find time to finish the Wiki’s I started and then look at creating some apps, although there are a few bits I do need to brush up on first, especially integration with C++.

As for the competition, there were some great entries and I plan on working through those how-too’s as well, and looking at the project code – I especially like the Tabbed UI and Timer wiki’s – simple but useful stuff explained well.   You can see the full list of winners and entries and look at the wiki’s and projects by following the link below:

http://wiki.forum.nokia.com/index.php/The_Quick_Competition_2011Q1

I did today update my post about paging using ListView with instructions on how to make this into a component, an early version of which was an entry to this competition. The version now is probably the final version I will put up, at least, I don’t anticipate adding any ore sections to the how to or changing their content significantly. You can see this at:

http://wiki.forum.nokia.com/index.php/QML_Paging_Using_ListView

About bluechrism

I am a software developer with most professional experience in the Windows .Net realm and I'm currently a WPF developer with Starkey Labs. However, I have wanted for some time to start the mobile developer journey properly and being an N900 owner, this was to be in the realm of QT. Job hunting, moving to Minnesota and changing jobs put my plans on hold 6-12 months but things are starting to settle now, just as I'm getting sorted to start some things, Microsoft and Nokia merge. This blog is about my novice mobile development experiences and hopefully will end up complete with links to download some apps on various platforms, but obviously by the name, Sybian, Maemo/Meego and Windows Mobile. In other stuff, I am English, I support Everton FC, I have visited Glastonbury music festival 5 times and recommend it to anyone. I am married and my wife and i have a dog called Friday.
This entry was posted in Nokia, Qt. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

